Condolences

Posted: March 18, 2009 by April Watkins in Breaking News, Condolences, Current Events
Tags: , , ,

The New York Post reports tonight that Tony award winning actress, Natasha Richardson, has been declared “brain dead” as a result of a head injury from a skiing accident.  The actress, who is married to actor Liam Neeson, is being kept alive by artificial means and has been flown from the ski resort in Canada back to her home in New York where her children and family will say goodbye.

Our thoughts and prayers are with the Richardson-Neeson family tonight as they face this tragic event.

ALW

Natasha Richardson with husband, Liam Neeson

Natasha Richardson with husband, Liam Neeson

Comments
  1. Donna R. Johnston says:

    The pain is almost unbearable in the beginning, then it begins to wain but never really goes away. For several weeks/months you wake and think, I am going to call ________. I would like to know how she planted her daffodils. I would like to know how to make “Mexican soup”. I would like to know how she mixed her whiskey sours… I would like to know how the omelets rendered themselves so fluffy. She is not going to answer…. she is no longer there. But for you, she will always be there. A memory here and there, will pop up when you are driving. How she loved the fresh, clear day views of the snow capped mountains. Walking down the streets of her home town; helloing to the merchants on village roads. Her beauty when she dressed to shine. Her beauty when she glowed with the delight of the natural surrounding of her life with her family.

    May all blessings be upon you and yours during this painful time of loss.

    Sincerely,

    Donna R. Johnston

  2. Irene says:

    My blessings and prayers go to the family. I am very sorry to hear about this tragic loss. She was a wonderful actress and has gone too soon.

  3. Dian Burris says:

    I am so very sorry to hear of the great loss that the Neeson family has suffered. I know that this was untimely and horrific,for all of them. Her beauty and youth will imortalize her in our memories and hearts for a long time.
    As for Liam, I remember him most when he played Blackie. I adored him, and I’m sure the part he played was much like his own in life with her and their sons.
    You are all in our prayers, and hope God gives you the strength you will need to face this.

  4. Y. Johnson says:

    I wanted to express my deepest sympathy to the Neeson, Richardson, Redgrave family on the loss of Natasha. She was a great actress and I really got immense pleasure from watching her on the big screen.

  5. Denise Moore says:

    I am simply a fan of the two of you. I remember a story on Jay Leno one night regarding Christmas. Natasha told of Liam running through the woods in a Santa costume to surprise the children. My husband did the same with my daughter. I lost my father in December and I hope that you can remember the wonderful and loving times you must of had.

    Thank you,

    Denise Moore

  6. laura owens says:

    MY THOUGHTS AND PRAYERS ARE WITH THE NEESON FAMILY TONITE AND IN THE DAYS TO COME.

    LAURA OWENS
    lENOIR,NC 28645

  7. Barbara Patterson says:

    God be with you, Mr. Neeson and the children. It’s a terrible thing when this happens. My prayers are with you and your family on this tragic day.

    Take care of the boys.

    Barbara

  8. Taggert says:

    It is really weird to me how the posters on this topic have never met this woman yet are overcome with grief for her and her family. People die every day that I don’t know yet I don’t go into hysterics over each one. Just because she was an actress why is there this connection as if it were a close relative? Do these posters have the same responses when there is a plane crash with children aboard or someone unknown with a family dies in Iraq? The newspapers are filled with obits each day with tragic circumstances but I bet the posters ignore those. Do you people have jobs or just mourn celebrities you have never met? It would seem a full time occupation. I don’t get it.

    • Hi Taggert! Thank you for taking time to read my blog. I can certainly understand your point, it was always amazing to me how some people seem fixated on particular personalities, i.e. Elvis, Marilyn Monroe, John Lennon, etc. However, I have gained some insight throughout the years and thought it might be interesting to share in light of your comment. I paid particular attention to Ms. Richardson’s death as it occurred due to a head injury. My family has struggled through 3 incidents where brain injury was critical, once causing death. When you experience a gut wrenching event as dealing with a brain injury, you become bonded with others who are stuggling in the same fight. We also see that with cancer victims and cancer survivors, as well as victims of stroke, ALS, Alzheimer’s, etc. Thus those souls are bonding with the tragedy in order to: cope, learn how to deal with the inevitable, or prepare. On the other hand, we see people who identify with celebrities out of a need to dream, to feel like they have an exciting life through watching their star, or they use the star as a surrogate for a lover, parent, child, etc. I hope this insight will provide some sense of understanding. However, I do agree with you that some folks simply need to get a life and move past the “teenage crushes.” ALW

  9. Joe says:

    Natasha will be missed; and our condolences go out to Liam

Leave a Reply

