Kudos to Mr. Krauthammer!

Posted: June 11, 2009 by April Watkins in Current Events, Media, Opinions
Tags: , ,

We would like to congratulate Charles Krauthammer, syndicated columnist and FoxNews contributor, upon being awarded the Eric Breindel Award for Excellence in Opinion Journalism.  This prestigious award was presented Wednesday, June 10.

This writer has had the opportunity to meet Mr. Krauthammer during my tenure in Washington, D.C. and found him to be as intense and intriguing as his opinion pieces.  He is truly a remarkable man with an extraordinary mind.  His insight and analysis of various topics from world politics to domestic issues prove time and again to be exceedingly accurate.  In the media world, Mr. Krauthammer is, indeed, one of my heros.  Congratulations!!

Charles Krauthammer

Charles Krauthammer

The Washington Post’s biographical spotlight on Mr. Krauthammer:

» Columnist | Charles Krauthammer is a weekly columnist for The Post, writing on foreign and domestic policy and politics. His column appears on Fridays.  Krauthammer began writing a weekly column for The Post in 1985. Formerly a resident and then chief resident in psychiatry at Massachusetts General Hospital, he joined The New Republic as a writer and editor in 1981. His writing regularly appears in such publications as Time, The Weekly Standard and The New Republic.  He is the recipient of numerous awards, including the National Magazine Award for essays and criticism in 1984, the Pulitzer Prize for distinguished commentary in 1987 and the Bradley Prize in 2004.

Below is the description taken from the website of the organization and its awards:

The Eric Breindel Journalism Award, which began in 1999, is a nationwide professional competition whose prize is now $20,000, and is awarded annually in memory of the New York Post editor and columnist, and includes opinion journalism, news coverage and online articles. Last year the award was given to the Senior Fellow at the Council of Foreign Relations, Max Boot. Prior award recipients include Internationally Syndicated Columnist, Mark Steyn; Deputy Editor, Editorial Page of The Wall Street Journal, Daniel Paul Henninger; Claudia Rosett, Journalist-in-Residence for The Foundation for the Defense of Democracies; Editor-at-Large of The Atlantic Monthly, Michael Kelly (posthumously); Boston Globe columnist Jeff Jacoby; Managing Editor of the National Review, Jay Nordlinger; and Victor Davis Hanson, best-selling author and freelance writer.

The Eric Breindel Collegiate Journalism Award, which began in 2006, offers winners a cash prize of $10,000, as well as a paid internship of his or her choice at either Fox News Channel, The Wall Street Journal, or the New York Post. In addition, residential housing in New York City will be provided for the winner for the duration of the internship position, if necessary.

  1. payday loans says:

    I should say that prilspen.wordpress.com has lots of interesting information. Looks like the author did a good job. I will be coming back to prilspen.wordpress.com for new information. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s