September 11, 2001 – Remembered

Posted: September 11, 2009 by April Watkins in September 11
Tags: ,
NYC under attack

NYC under attack

 

Today is the eighth year anniversary of the most horrible attack on the United States mainland.  September 11, 2001 is a day that will never be forgotten and is seared in my memory. 

 

On that ill-fated day, I was in Washington, D.C. in my office which was two blocks from the White House. 

Pentagon attacked

Pentagon attacked

 

I witnessed the Pentagon burning, boiling in rolling smoke.  Looking out of my second story window I saw military vehicles and armed soldiers on the street below.  A command post was being put up on C Street, right under my window.

 

Evacuating D.C.

Evacuating D.C.

 

I saw thousands of people running, walking, trying to get out of the downtown area because all traffic, including trains and buses had been halted. 

 

 

Fighter breaking sound barrier

Fighter breaking sound barrier

 

 

USAF fighters were scrambled from Andrews AF Base in southeastern D.C.  I heard and felt the tremendous percussion of the sonic booms when the jets broke the sound barrier racing over DC on their way to intercept the hijacked Flight 93. 

 

 

PA crash

 

The scene in a Pennsylvania field; the crash of Flight 93.

Leave a Reply

